American Ancestors New England Historic Genealogical Society - Founded 1845 N.E. Historic Genealogical Society Seal View Your Shopping Cart Join NEHGS
Go

Discussion Board

Login
Brick Walls
User Rank: Beginner

Created By:Constance

When, if ever, is there a point where one can assume a relationship without a paper trail of proof?  I have been trying for some time to connect my ggf to a man I am pretty certain is his father, but there seems to be no definitive record I can locate to prove the relationship.

Created By:Lee Bennett
As an experienced amateur, I have had similar situations.  Within my family, I may say, "This relationship is assumed, but not proven.", or something like that.  I would never state as fact, anything that I was unsure of, and I'd certainly not publish conclusions on the internet, without plenty of disclaimers.  The job is never done, so my opinion is that you can set a daunting problem aside, but you can never completely close the book until you have better supporting documentation.

Created By:Ronald
Many modern genealogy software programs allow one to assign a level of "surety" to any given piece of information.  If you are not sure of something you can assign a lower level of surety such as "unconfirmed, marginal evidence, have not decided yet".  That way if someone else looks at your research they will see how confident you are as to the accuracy of any piece of information.  You can also add notes explaining why you aren't sure of something.

Created By:Alison

You might try checking land records as there might be some clues there if the person whom you think could be the father, may have sold or deeded land to your gggrandfather.

Alison Franks

Archivist, Rawson Family Association

agfranks@comcast.net

Created By:Laurie Kirby

I have circumvented several brick walls by examining records of collateral relatives.