American Ancestors New England Historic Genealogical Society - Founded 1845 N.E. Historic Genealogical Society Seal View Your Shopping Cart Join NEHGS

Ask a Genealogist

RSS Feed

Ask a Genealogist: Old Norfolk County in Massachusetts from 1643

 Permanent link


I understand there was a Norfolk County that included parts of New Hampshire and Massachusetts. Can you tell me what towns were included?


Old Norfolk County was established in the year 1643.  This county included the towns of Amesbury, Haverhill, Salisbury that are now in Essex County, Massachusetts.  The current New Hampshire portion included the towns of Dover, Exter, and Portsmouth.  In 1679 Dover, Exeter and Portsmouth were added to the royal province of New Hampshire. Soon after Amesbury, Haverhill, and Salisbury were returned to Essex County. Old Norfolk county although abolished continued to record deeds through the year 1714.  The county name was used again in 1793 when the southern half of Suffolk County in Massachusetts was formed as Norfolk County.  I would suggest the article by David Curtis Dearborn, "The Old Norfolk County Records," The Essex Genealogist 3 (1983), pgs. 194-196.

Posted by Andrew Hanson-Dvoracek at 01/02/2013 11:33:45 AM | 

New England Historic Genealogical Society
99 - 101 Newbury Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02116, USA

© 2010 - 2014 New England Historic Genealogical Society